Education Malaysia Logo
Centre of Educational Excellence

Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE)

mohe logoIntroduction
The Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) was created on 27 March 2004 to take charge of higher education in Malaysia which involves more than 900,000 students pursuing higher education in 20 public universities, 33 private universities and university colleges, 4 foreign university branch campuses, 22 polytechnics, 37 community colleges and about 500 private colleges. The MOHE’s mission is to create a higher education environment that will foster the development of academic and institutional excellence. It is in line with the vision of the government to make Malaysia a centre of educational excellence and to internationalise of Malaysian education.

There are also other government agencies involved in higher education under the jurisdiction of MOHE; namely the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA), the National Higher Education Fund Corporation (Perbadanan Tabung Pendidikan Tinggi Nasional – PTPTN) and Yayasan Tunku Abdul Rahman (YTAR).

To make Malaysia a centre of higher educational excellence by the year 2020.

To build and create a higher education environment that is conducive for the development of a superior centre of knowledge and to generate individuals who are competent, innovative and of noble character to serve the needs of the nation and the world.

  1. To create a strategic and systematic plan for higher education
  2. To reinforce the management system of higher education
  3. To increase the level of capacity, accessibility and participation in higher education
  4. To enhance the quality of higher education at par with international standards
  5. To internationalise Malaysian higher education
  6. Organisations of MOHE
    The MOHE comprises the following departments/sectors:

    • The Department of Higher Education
    • The Department of Polytechnic and Community College Education
    • The Management Sector
    • The Development Sector

    The Department of Higher Education
    The Department of Higher Education is supported by several sectors and divisions that is responsible for the development of both public and private higher education in Malaysia. It also ensures that the universities and colleges are of international standing. This Department is also involved in the marketing of Malaysian higher education to the international market as well as being in charge of the international student welfare.

    The sector designated with the jurisdiction over public higher education is known as the Sector of Public Higher Education Management while the sector designated with the jurisdiction over private higher education is known as the Sector of Private Higher Education Management.

    The Department of Polytechnic and Community College Education
    Department is committed to providing education and training at Polytechnics and Community Colleges to fulfill the human capital needs of the nation through strategic management, relevant and dynamic curricula, effective training and career development programmes, continuous quality assurance and strong support services based on the National Education Philosophy.

    The Polytechnics and Community Colleges serve as alternative paths for high school graduates to further their education apart from public universities.

    Polytechnic Education also provides relevant technological or entrepreneurial education and training. These are aimed at upgrading basic skills as well as to promote research and development projects in collaboration with businesses and industries.

    Community Colleges aim to provide life-long learning opportunities for the community and high school graduates particularly those who study under the vocational stream. Students will be trained, ‘re-skilled’ or ‘up-skilled’, leading to the award of certificate qualification.

    The Management Sector
    This is the corporate and management services sector. It consists of the Information Technology Division, Human Resource Management Division, Human Development and Training Division, as well as the Finance Division. Overall, this sector handles the administration of the Ministry, the corporate image and other management functions.

    The Development Sector
    The Development Sector consists of the International Division, Planning and Research Division, and Scholarship Division. Its many functions include preparation of physical development plans that cover the five-year Malaysian Plan, facilities of public higher educational institutions, as well as the Polytechnics and Community Colleges. It also handles the finances for management and development of public higher educational institutions besides making monthly, quarterly and half-yearly reports.

    ( Please note that only the profile of The Department of Higher Education is highlighted here. For the complete organisation structure of MOHE, please visit )